In the north-eastern corner of the flank and facade of Arnold's battery is the finest and grandest casemate on Kristiansteb fortress. Original built in 1748 as crew barracks and storage for gun powder. Throughout the last 300 years these casemates have gone through a whole range of improvements, among one at the end of the 1800s, as well as a total renovation in 1996, on commission from The Norwegian Defence Estates Agency.
With vaulted ceilings, brick floors, big red drapes along the walls and two large chandeliers in the ceiling, this makes it the most beautiful casemate at Kristiansten fortress. The room can accommodate up to 70 people and is especially suitable for private gatherings, weddings and Christmas parties as the room can be closed and kept warm, and has its own bar with all rights, music facilities and video projector options.
Next to the king's bastion is the queen's bastion with the same history as the king's. This is also part of Arnold's battery and is originally called 1028 Kasematt (Arnold's battery, northern flank, left casemate). These were also bomb free barracks and had an important function as a space for crew and equipment. Like all other casemates, these lime-colored natural stone surfaces, floor tiles in fish bone patterns and two vaulted vaulted windows.
The cassette compartment fits best to companies up to 40 pcs and is mainly used for weddings, confirmation, christening and Christmas parties.
The innermost casemate Kronprinsen is the smallest, but coziest casemate. It was originally used as bomber barracks, crew embankment and warehouse. In the inter-war period, this part of the fortress was used as a kennel for the Nordenfjeldske trekkhundklubb. After the refurbishment in 1996, this was also covered with lime-whitened natural stone surfaces and had floor tiles made of herringbone pattern, laid in sand with heating cables.
Although Kronprinsen is our smallest casemate, it's excellent for smaller and private gatherings.
The Haubitz magazine was built in 1918 to store Haubitz cannons and was rebuilt as a 56-cell prison during World War II. A number of German barracks were also listed on the area around the magazine. The building is not part of the fortification itself, but shows a typical military use of a fortification facility. All the cells were demolished when the building was redecorated into warehouses and offices in the mid-50s. Also the limb brakes are today demolished.
Today, the Haubitz magazine is used as our largest banquet room, has a unique character and accommodates up to 300 guests. The venue stands out as one of Trondheim's largest venues for larger events, where the size of the venue, entertainment, own hosts and dedicated chefs can provide a truly unique experience.
In the actual commanders house we have 3 rooms which are mainly dedicated to the restaurant. But it's also used for small gatherings and different events. The first room that welcomes you is the kammers. This room accommodates 18 people. Furthermore, we have Cicignon, a small intimate room with room for 8 people.
At the heart of the restaurant you will find the guard room, part of the original commanders residence that was built from 1776-1779 and has been used by the officer in charge. The real commander lived in the fortress town, while the officer in charge was the man who initiated his orders for Kristiansten.
Today, the room is particularly suitable for smaller gatherings of up to 22 people, own hosts, possibility of closed doors and separate entrance.
At Trondheim's 1000th anniversary in 1997, the fortress underwent extensive renovation. Flood lighting was installed, and one of the fortress casemates was decorated for memory chapel. 1023 cashmere has a special function as an ecumenical chapel as of 2006, and as a memorial to the Norwegian resistance people who were executed on the fortress during 1940-1945.